About GKAR

REALTOR® of the Year

The GKAR REALTOR® of the Year is recognized by their peers for their contributions to the real estate profession and to the greater Kalamazoo community.


Dan Jaqua

2018 REALTOR® of the Year


Dan started his real estate career immediately following graduation from University of Michigan with his Bachelors of Business in Real Estate and Marketing. Soon after, he continued with his education by getting his Broker license and Designations of GRI, CRS, ABR, CRB, CRP, and RAM.

He has spent his career in sales and brokerage management. Dan served on the Board of Directors for the GKAR from 1996 through 2001, and again in 2011 through 2013. In 2014, he served as the President. In addition, he has served on the Public Relations Committee, the Budget & Finance Committee, and has been an instructor at the MREA for over 15 years. He currently serves as an RPAC trustee at Michigan REALTORS® and a board member of Michigan REALTORS® Who Care. He has also taken an active role in supporting community endeavors through the Portage Rotary Club, Big Brothers Big Sisters, the American Heart Association, and many others.

Past REALTOR® of the Year Recipients

1958     Orville B Schroeder 1959     Clarence Hawthorne 1960     C Ray Clapper
1961     Ty Carter 1962     Robert Early 1963     Harry Hurni
1964     Arthur Warly 1965     Lowell A Swanson 1966     ---
1967     BW Borkenstein 1968     Robert E Greene 1969     Dale O Wheeler
1970     Kenneth S Bright 1971     Bruce R Perry 1972     Arthur C Early
1973     John W Bosch 1974     Philip C Keelan 1975     Meryl Weimaster
1976     Philip P Perry 1977     Douglas R Preston 1978     Frank R Stokes
1979    John B Olheiser 1980     John W Bosch 1981     Rod O' Brien
1982     Tom Tobin 1983     Jerry Carlson 1984     Lowell I Swanson
1985     Marian E Greene 1986     Robert L Walton 1987     Sam Cupps
1988     Woody King 1989     Phyllis Bogren 1990     Kathy King
1991     Tim Brown 1992     Nick Pratt 1993     Judy Haugh
1994     Jared Arnold 1995     Lonnie Palleschi 1996     Sally Elser
1997     Al Rowe 1998     Tim Brown 1999     Marty Wagar
2000     Ray Becker 2001     Mary Sutton 2002     Don Cain
2003     Sue Cornell 2004     Wayne Wilkinson 2005     David Maturen
2006     Dennis Field 2007     Rose Rook 2008     Rick Hoffman
2009     John Jackson 2010     Rick Berner 2011     John Buttery
2012     Audrey DeVault 2013     Cheri Schulz 2014     Cathy Gasper
2015     Nancy Fish 2016     Lee Crossley 2017     Gayle Zientek
2018     Dan Jaqua    

Make the Most of your Membership!

When you get involved, you open up a world of opportunities to build your network, your resume, and your business. Take advantage of the exciting benefits and opportunities available to you at GKAR.

GKAR Member Tech Helpline
Phone: (866) 619-8099

Live Chat:
Hours: Monday - Friday, 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

MLS Emergency Hotline

Phone: (269) 382-1985
Hours: Monday - Friday, 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm


Nominations for the 2019 REALTOR® of the Year were accepted from September 1st, 2018 to September 15th, 2018.

Important Details:

  • Nominees must be a Primary Member of GKAR.
  • Nominees must possess a current Michigan Real Estate License.
  • Nominees must have been a GKAR Member for a minimum of five consecutive years.
  • Self-nominations are permitted.
  • Nominees cannot be a current officer, newly-elected officer, or former REALTOR® of the Year.
  • The recipient will be honored at the local level and recognized at the GKAR Installation & State of the Association Holiday Luncheon. 
  • The REALTOR® of the Year name will be submitted to Michigan REALTORS® (MR) for consideration as MR of the Year and shall be the guest of GKAR at the appropriate MR Convention.