About GKAR


GKAR Committees are the lifeblood of the Association, serving and executing the Board of Directors’ vision for the Association, in alignment with the Bylaws, Strategic Plan, and National Association of REALTORS® Core Standards.

2017 GKAR Committee Descriptions


(Formerly Governmental Affairs)

Chair: Natalie Rowe
Vice Chair: Natalie Rowe
Director Liaison: Ryan Rider
Staff Liaison: Callie Reed
Schedule: Every other month; 1st Monday at 2:00 pm
Available Seats: 7 REALTORS®; 3 Business Partners
Roster | Minutes
Meets the NAR minimum standards for participation in 2017 Calls for Action; exceeds RPAC Goal set by NAR by 150%; provides endorsement of State and local legislators; and hosts quarterly Legislative Update Forums open to all Members. 

Community Relations 

Chair: Alex Jeffries
Vice Chair: Kathi Vlachos
Director Liaison: Lisa Faber
Staff Liaison: Angela McMillan
Schedule: 1st Friday at 10:00 am
Available Seats: 10 REALTORS®; 6 Business Partners
Roster | Minutes
Participates in Community Events—Walk to End Homelessness; REALTOR® Open House; Habitat for Humanity Event; and Day of Service for Veterans. 


Co Chair: George Betten
Co Chair: Tammy Graham
Schedule: As needed
Roster | Minutes 
Screens/investigates for the Professional Standards Hearing Panel. Following review, determines the proper course of action on any formal complaint from the public or Membership. Committee Members must have been a REALTOR® Member for a minimum of three years, and attend additional education.


Chair: James Cash
Vice Chair: Nathan Brussee

Director Liaison: Richard Crepas
Staff Liaison: Heather Atteberry


Chair: Steve Gerike
Vice Chair: Jennifer Copeland
Director Liaison: Dennis Bronson
Staff Liaison: TBD
Schedule: 2nd Tuesday at 1:30 pm
Available Seats: 12 REALTORS®
Roster | Minutes
Develops, interprets, and enforces MLS policies and rules.

Provide solutions for streamlining the MLS

Professional Development

(Formerly Education)

Chair: Suzanne Sloan
Vice Chair: Jim Cash
Director Liaison: Linda K. Hazelhoff
Staff Liaison: TBD
Schedule: 1st Friday at 8:30 am
Available Seats: 10 REALTORS®; 4 Business Partners
Roster | Minutes
Provides regular topical programs—REALTOR® Safety, Title Work for REALTORS®, Social Media and How to Advertise, and Negotiating Repairs.

Professional Standards

Co Chair: Rick George
Co Chair: Nancy Whitney
Schedule: As needed
Provides a pool of panel Members to hear matters of alleged Code of Ethics violations by REALTOR® Members and to hear disputes regarding commissions. Committee Members must have been a REALTOR®  Member for a minimum of five years and attend additional education.

Risk Management

Chair: Greg Miller
Vice Chair: Lee Crossley
Director Liaison: Paul Valentin
Staff Liaison: TBD
Schedule: 2nd Friday at 8:30 am
Available Seats: 10 REALTORS®; 4 Business Partners
Roster | Minutes
Reviews and revises standard forms, contract language, and disclosures.

Provides GKAR Members Forms Update session by individual or panel. 

 Advocacy Committee

 Member Name Role Office
Natalie Rowe Chair/Vice Chair RE/MAX Advantage
Ryan Rider Director Liaison Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices 
Callie Reed Staff Liaison GKAR
Charlie Bradford Member  Chuck Jaqua, REALTOR®, Inc.
Michele Brown Member RE/MAX Advantage
Linda K. Hazelhoff Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Lorrie Nelson Member Network Team Homes Realty
Dave Schnelker Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices 
Nita Snyder Member Honor Credit Union


Community Relations Committee

Member Name Role Office
 Alex Jeffries Chair Michigan Real Estate Services
Kathi Vlachos Vice Chair KALSEE Credit Union 
Lisa Faber Director Liaison Jaqua, REALTORS®
Angela McMillan Staff Liaison GKAR
Audrey Andrews Member Lake Michigan Credit Union
William Barber Member Keller Williams 
Charlie Bradford Member  Chuck Jaqua, REALTOR®, Inc.
Scott Burkett Member PrimeLending, A PlansCapital Company
Lindsay Flynn Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Crystal Haydo Member Allen Edwin Realty
Courtney Howrigon Member Ron Jackson Insurance Agency
Joe Huizar Member Consumers Credit Union
Kerry Keefer-Fischer Member Five Star Real Estate
Emelee Rajzer Member Greenstone Farm Credit Services
Elyce Rosenbach Member AmeriFirst Home Mortgage
Nicole Sabel Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices

Grievance Committee

 Member Name Role Office
George Betten Co Chair Betten Real Estate
Tammy Graham Co Chair Jaqua, REALTORS® 

Membership Committee

 Member Name Role Office
James Cash Chair Kalvan Realty
Nathan Brussee Vice Chair West Michigan REALTORS®, L.L.C.
Richard Crepas Director Liaison Jaqua, REALTORS®
Heather Atteberry Staff Liaison GKAR
Shelly Misak Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Luke Schrader Member Keller Williams Kalamazoo
Joseph Taylor Member Evenboer-Walton, REALTORS®


MLS Committee

 Member Name Role Office
Steven Gerike Chair Lakes and Country Real Estate
Jennifer Copeland Vice Chair RE/MAX Advantage 
Dennis Bronson Director Liaison Jaqua, REALTORS®
Tim Brown Member RE/MAX of Kalamazoo
Kerry Keefer-Fischer Member Five Star Real Estate
Carl Phalin Member Jaqua, REALTORS®
David Philipson Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Steven Revor Member Maurer Real Estate
Tom Seelbinder Member The No Problem Listing Company
Kathy Smith Member Jaqua, REALTORS®
Sarah VandenBerg Member AmeriFirst Home Mortgage Appraisal Division
Jason Veenstra Member Evenboer-Walton, REALTORS®
Martin Wagar Member Wagar & Associates, Inc


Professional Development Committee

 Member Name Role Office
Suzanne Sloan Chair Jaqua, REALTORS®
Jim Cash Vice Chair Kalvan Realty
Linda K. Hazelhoff Director Liaison Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Holly Babb Member Arbor Financial Credit Union
Ellen Horkey Member Keller Williams 
Ron Kilian Member ServiceMaster of Kalamazoo
Lyle Schenck Member Jaqua, REALTORS®
Kelly Small Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Eugenia Zacks-Carney Member Keller Williams Kalamazoo


Professional Standards Committee

 Member Name Role Office
Rick George Co-Chair J.A. George & Associates, LLC
Nancy Whitney Co-Chair Cornell & Associates


Risk Management Committee

 Member Name Role Office
Greg Miller Chair Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Lee Crossley Vice Chair Jaqua, REALTORS®
Paul Valentin Director Liaison Jaqua, REALTORS® 
Jared Arnold Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeService
David Clark Member Nederveld
Brett Cummings Member Willis Law
Suzzette Deaux Member Jaqua, REALTORS®
James Douglass Member RE/MAX Advantage
M. Charles Etter Member M. Charles Etter P.C.
Collin Forrest Member Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Rachel Foster Member Warner Norcross & Judd LLP
J.R. Fulton Member No-Frills Realty
Joe Richards Member Keller Williams Kalamazoo Market Center
Al Rowe Member RE/MAX Advantage
Brandon Rausch Member Acura Real Estate

Make the Most of your Membership!

When you get involved, you open up a world of opportunities to build your network, your resume, and your business. Take advantage of the exciting benefits and opportunities available to you at GKAR.

MLS Emergency Hotline
Phone: (269) 382-1985
Hours: Monday - Friday, 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

2018 Committee/Service Application

To apply, please email your completed form to:
Callie Reed by 3:00 pm, on Friday, December 8th, 2017.

Download 2018 Committee Application (PDF)

What happens next?
  • If you have been selected to serve on a Committee, you will be notified via email following the Committee Selection; no later than Friday, December 22nd, 2017.
  • If you indicated interest in serving at an Event, a Committee Member will contact you no later than Friday, January 26th, 2018.